sshfs is cool

So some of the facilitized systems here at CMU use kerberos for authentication. This means simple public-key based SSH login won’t work. For simple tasks, like editing text files on the remote system, it’s not worth going through too much pain to make this work.

Two options:

1. Use password caching with the ‘tramp’ feature for emacs, as suggested here. However for reasons beyond me I couldn’t get this to work. If I figure it out I’ll update this poist.

2. Use sshfs to mount the remote home directory locally. Then it’s only necessary to authenticate with one’s password once.

sshfs -o workaround=rename server.using.kerberos: /path/to/local/mount/point

The workaround=rename was necessary for me because emacs would complain about a renaming failure with “operation not permitted”.

Note that following apt-get install sshfs I couldn’t immediately use sshfs successfully. My user was not part of the fuse group. Even once I added myself (sudo adduser username groupname), it was necessary to start a new login for the system to “know” that I was a member. In lieu of actually logging out, one can do su - username to start a new session. The command id will list the groups in which the current user is a member. If fuse isn’t listed, it’s not going to work.

Leave a Reply

