fink, tetex, minicom, OS X 10.4, 10.5, …

So I wanted to install minicom on OS X to use with my new USB-to-serial adapter, but it turns out my installation of fink was pretty old… so old that it predates my upgrade from OS X 10.4 to 10.5. I depend on my fink installation for LaTeX, so I was hesitant to tamper with it. However, a good half hour of reading documentation on the fink web page got me no closer to comprehending how to do the upgrade (seriously fink: what is the version numbering scheme?

Now that I’ve upgraded, my system shows:

$ fink -V
Package manager version: 0.27.16
Distribution version: 0.9.0.1 i386

However, there are instructions for things like Upgrading From Fink 0.3.x. Is this just years and years old?

Anyways, my solution was to totally uninstall my existing fink installation and start clean. Right now LaTeX has been downloading for nearly an hour. Hopefully that will get me to the point where I can install minicom. Note that I had to install the XQuartz X11 server even though Leopard includes basically an earlier version of the same code. Note also that I had to run ‘fink configure’ and enable unstable packages.

I ran into the same problems as this guy, where fink and apt-get acted like minicom did not exist. It has to do with using rsync or cvs instead of the “point” releases. Grumble.

Leave a Reply

