Parallels Reverse Transporter (Virtual to Physical)

Parallels for Max OS X allows me to run Windows XP in a virtual machine. Boot Camp allows native installation of Windows XP on Intel Macs. Parallels Transporter enables a Boot Camp-based native installation of Windows XP to run in a virtual machine while OS X is running, while simultaneously allowing the system to reboot and run Windows XP natively for extra graphics, performance, etc. Unfortunately, it’s designed assuming the native install of Windows XP was there first. In my case, I have a Windows XP virtual machine, and I would like the option to also boot it natively using Boot Camp. My best Google skills turned up this Virtual to Physical (Boot Camp) Guide, which is sufficiently involved that I haven’t tried it yet, but I will. Regardless, this virtual-to-physical transition is clearly something people want, and it’s only a matter of time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

