Symbian Signed Debacle

I was really hoping to implement a simple application that does a little crypto exclusively in Python for my Nokia E51 (Symbian OS v9, Nokia Series 60 (S60) 3rd Edition), but Python for S60 doesn’t currently expose public key cryptography. I’ve decided to fall-back to Symbian C++, but all applications for S60 3rd Edition must be signed. It turns out they can be signed with a self-signed certificate, if the capabilities they require are minimal.

I used Carbide C++ v1.3 and created a new Symbian C++ Project. It complained bitterly that the default directory (a child of the active workspace) was not acceptable, and I have no idea why. I chose my own directory outside that path.

The application built and executed successfully on the emulator. I then re-built it for the phone, and tried to install the resulting SIS file. I then received the error message “Certificate error. Contact the application supplier.“. This page explains a lot about error messages, and is quite helpful. It turns out a signed application comes in a SISX file. When I tried to install that one it worked as expected.

My fingers are crossed that my development plans won’t require any capabilities that I’ll have to pay money to get. I must say, that’s an awfully high barrier to development.

Leave a Reply

