MySQL and backupninja

backupninja has been the subject of several of my postings over the years. I finally decided to use it to automatically backup some MySQL databases (i.e., this blog) instead of running a mysqldump manually whenever I think of it (not too often). I did `aptitude install backupninja` and then used `ninjahelper` to tell it to dump all MySQL databases.

I ran into one glitch during a test run where backupninja produced:

Backupninja failed with the following error:
== fatal errors from /etc/backup.d/20.mysql
== Fatal: Can't find config file in /root/.my.cnf

My esteemed colleague Mr. Parno pointed out that removing “user=root” from /etc/backup.d/20.mysql does the trick.

Leave a Reply

