Dreaming in Code by Scott Rosenberg

I have recently read “Dreaming in Code” by Scott Rosenberg. The book actually has a website.

I read this book because I thought it might explain the challenges of doing software in a way that some “regular people” in my life might find approachable. I still believe that to be true.

I liked this book, as it goes into great detail about an ongoing software project today. It helps to connect programs on a computer with the people who actually create them, and the kinds of problems they have in doing so. The project described in the book is called Chandler, which is named after a dog, and has nothing to do with Friends (good thing; I nearly stopped reading!). I also liked the book because it describes a lot of historical events in the computing industry.

I haven’t actually installed or used Chandler yet, but I might. Thunderbird 2.0 is supposed to integrate with Google Calendar though, which will solve a lot of my problems.

Leave a Reply

