BIOS Flashing

I’ve had to flash some BIOSes lately, and it can be a pain if one is not properly equipped.

The good folks at bootdisk.com have a Dr. DOS image all ready to go, which loads absolutely nothing, which is just what is necessary for BIOS flashing: drdflash.zip

I decided to write the image in Linux, which I did by running the following as root (may not be necessary to be root, I’m not sure):

dd if=[imagefile] of=/dev/fd0

If this works correctly, it should yield:


2880+0 records in
2880+0 records out

Once the bootdisk has been created, we must populate it with our new BIOS image and the flashing utility.

mount -t vfat /dev/fd0 /mnt
cp /my/bios/stuff/* /mnt
sync
umount /mnt

For me, this copy returned immediately, which seemed strange because floppies are slow. That’s why I explicitly did a `sync` and unmounted the disk, and then waited a bit, before removing the disk.

Leave a Reply

