Upgrading SVN from 1.1 to 1.2

I’m a fan of SVN, and I recently upgraded it on a server for which I am the pseudo-sysadmin. I received an error which many SVN users of the world seem to have received at one point or another following an upgrade:

Berkeley DB error while opening environment for filesystem [omitted by Jon]: DB_VERSION_MISMATCH: Database environment version mismatch svn: bdb: Program version 4.3 doesn’t match environment version

Exactly what I did is upgrade debian packages from:

python2.3-subversion_1.1.4-2_i386.deb
subversion-tools_1.1.4-2_all.deb
subversion_1.1.4-2_i386.deb

to:

python2.3-subversion_1.2.3dfsg1-3_i386.deb
subversion-tools_1.2.3dfsg1-3_all.deb
subversion_1.2.3dfsg1-3_i386.deb

Apparently what’s going on here is that the version of Berkeley DB upgraded from ? to 4.3, and automatic DB updates don’t just happen.

The SVN manual suggests running svnadmin recover [/path/to/repo], but that pukes out another hideous and terrifying error message.

svn: DB_RUNRECOVERY: Fatal error, run database recovery svn: bdb: Program version 4.3 doesn’t match environment version svn: bdb: Skipping log file svnmail/db/log.0000002291: historic log version 8 svn: bdb: svnmail/db/log.0000002292: log file open failed: No such file or directory svn: bdb: PANIC: No such file or directory svn: bdb: DB_ENV->log_put: 2292: DB_RUNRECOVERY: Fatal error, run database recovery

The fine folks who created this page on raditha.com gave me a major clue: that error message can actually be ignored. Because I always live in fear of good resources I come to depend on going away, I copied the error messages from the raditha site to this one. If that turns out to be a problem, let me know and I’ll remove them.

Leave a Reply

